Two office phrases that grind my gears… I’ll be “Reaching out” to “Pull Up”

I feel like I’m channeling the love child of Steven Wright and Peter Griffith today…

Two phrases that we seem to use a lot around here and them both annoy me. Why, I don’t know, but they do.

The first being “pull up”. When I hear somebody say, “Let’s have a pull up later” or “we pull up to discuss off line” I want to scream! Are they trying NOT to say the word “meet” or “meeting”…? I say “pull up” your big boy or girl panties and call things what they are… it’s another freakin’ meeting. 

The second is below and it is ‘reach out’. When I hear somebody say, “Please reach out to Mr. X” or “if you need assistance please reach out to Ms. Y” or “I’ll be reaching out to all of you” I want to scream again. What am I reaching for again… toilet paper, information, what if I can’t reach that far? I assume I am I “reaching out of the darkness”… and I may find… I may contact.

This is the kind of frame of mind I’m in today! 

About Brain Droppings...

I'm a tree hugger. I would like to leave the earth a better place than I found it, even though that is difficult to do these days. My thoughts I'll share on this blog are random and I hope indicate a raised awareness as time progresses.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

