I have come to realize our American south is the ‘short bus’ of the known universe

I’m allowed to say that as I am from south of the Mason-Dixon. Just barely, granted but the hills of Appalachia in Western Maryland where I grew up are truly just as backward as any place deeper in the American south. My qualifications to make the statement above is also based upon having lived in the Heart of Dixie for several years, even married a good ole boy from Clinton, Mississippi for a spell.

I left them parts, the Bible belt, where Jesus is praised, education is minimal, and nothing is sacred. As I communicate with family I left in the bowels of Good Ole Boydom I realize how stagnant and left in time that entire area is and remains.

I am inclined to believe it is because during the Civil War, since they lost so very miserably and still can’t seem to get over it, the war killed so many of their young men, leaving only the mentally weak, the desserters, the cowards, the mentally impaired. So, the southern states gene pool is composed of, shall we say, the shallow end of human genes. If you doubt this just listen to their accent… their accent, that hasn’t changed or improved over the last 100+ years. Seriously, it isn’t cute any more… it is distinctive but not in a positive manner. Also, what great science advancement, or even great individual has the south produced in the last 50 years.. 100 years…?

The south used to be great and it could be great again. However, the societies of the south need to embrace education and move forward with the rest of the country. Stop being the ‘short bus’…

I truly wish they would put their effort into education rather than bible thumping, racism, sexism, or hunting possum. The south is not evolving, it is stagnet and is holding back the rest of the country as a progressive nation.

About Brain Droppings...

I'm a tree hugger. I would like to leave the earth a better place than I found it, even though that is difficult to do these days. My thoughts I'll share on this blog are random and I hope indicate a raised awareness as time progresses.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

