Gratitude of the Butterfly

I am such a tree hugger and it is the most rewarding of things. I was sitting at the table, on a phone call, and I saw what I first thought was a leaf flapping in the breeze near a tree limb in the back yard. Just as the call was wrapping up (and another one about to begin) I realized it was a large, beautiful, black butterfly caught in a web! She was so desperately trying to free herself but had obviously exhausted herself and twined herself even more in the web as she struggled. In the moment I realized what was happening my son just entered the kitchen and I said, “I have to go save a butterfly!” He looked at me like I was crazy (which I am) and I snatched the broom off the porch, slid my feet into my sneakers, and ran out the front door! As I got closer I could see her markings as both her wings were stuck to the web,such a work of nature’s art, laid flat out against the sticky fibers… I took the broom and broke the web way from the branches but she was still stuck in a tangled mess so I swept, very gently, under her until she rested upon the flat part of the broom. With that, she was able to free herself from the web and launched herself into the air. (I’m always envious every time I see a creature fly… always amazed) She flew around in a little circle, I’m assuming checking to make sure ‘all her flight systems” were working and then she did the most beautiful thing… She flew right towards me! She flew up to the left side of my face, eye level, and hovered there for about 30 seconds, looking at me! Then she flew away. Being the crazy tree hugger I am… I believe she knew what I had done and she was thanking me. I know, the spider was deprived of her lunch, but I had to save that butterfly. I love my beautiful earth and every living thing on it.

About Brain Droppings...

I'm a tree hugger. I would like to leave the earth a better place than I found it, even though that is difficult to do these days. My thoughts I'll share on this blog are random and I hope indicate a raised awareness as time progresses.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

