Formation Flying and Geese – how can we observe nature and not be in awe?

I was just standing at the sliding glass door and noticed a lone goose flying right over head. I could tell he was a bird on a mission. Then, out of the corner of my eye to the left I see the V formation of about 40 other geese flying what appeared southwest. For a moment, I wondered why my lone friend flying above me was not flying towards them but more was simply on a due west flight path. As I am in love with the gift of flight and amazed each and every time I see anything in flight PLUS amazed by the geese ability to fly in formation – knowing a little about how difficult formation flying can be – I watched and noticed the V formation was beginning to turn it’s flight path more to the west. Within moments, they intersected with my lone friend who maintained his due west flight path! How did he know they would be turning west? Why didn’t he try to ‘catch’ them sooner, turning to their path rather than the whole flock turning to his path?

About Brain Droppings...

I'm a tree hugger. I would like to leave the earth a better place than I found it, even though that is difficult to do these days. My thoughts I'll share on this blog are random and I hope indicate a raised awareness as time progresses.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

